Call/WhatsApp: +1 914 416 5343


  1. Client is a Caucasian widowed female, who is now single and living alone. In addition, she’s 89 years old and originally from Ohio, she moved to Florida where she endured the tragedy of Hurricane Irma.
    1. Client Identification
  2. Date/ Time of Interview: April 22, 2019/11:10-12:20 P.M; Interviewed by Derick White
  3. Person interviewed: Samantha Hall, Date of Birth: Client never stated her date of birth
  4. Residence: 22 Oakdale Avenue
  5. Home phone: 760-567-3566
  6. Employment: Alpha Logics
  7. Business Phone: 203-879-9876

    B:  Person, Family, and Household, and Community systems        

  1. Person System

Samantha Hall prefers to be addressed as “Bunny”. She simply describes herself as “American” and said she was raised as a “Christian”. On the date of this interview, client wore a long sleeve blue shirt and black pants, and carried a cane to assist with her walking. I observed that she was very nervous coming into the interview, as she was shaking. She seemed to walk very slowly, with her back hunched over and expressed a yawn as she sat down. As the client talks, there was multiple voice cracks and seems to have a raspy voice. In addition, I noticed that she would take very long pauses as she talks, indicated that she has a hard time remembering things.

  • Family and Household system

Living alone, client’s family life has been overwhelming. With the recent death of Husband and no other family support, client states that he would have deep thoughts of taking her own life. Indicating major depressive disorder, client is shown to be depressed through isolation. Client has a daughter who lives in the Lewington area, but doesn’t reach out because she’s afraid. Client states that her daughter was never interested in helping her, and that her son is too busy worrying about “other things”. Not to mention, client has also lost her dog “Monty”, through the tragic event of Hurricane Irma. She indicates that although she loves her husband, she loves her dog more.

        3. Community Systems

Client is not really involved in social systems. The only place she looks for comfort is Lewington Senior and Disabled Center. She states that the center was the first place, her and her husband turned to when finding a sense of belonging. That is, she states that her husband would always play pool, while she would play bingo. Nowadays, client attends to the center every day, but indicates she’s not really sociable with the other elderly. Being that, she’s not very active, but wishes she was able to go to town events.

Client reported that she lives in a middle-class neighborhood. Lovely neighborhood to say, as there’s rarely any violence. Her neighbor’s love to drink and smoke, so at times she would chip in. She also states they party all the time, but she’s too old to party, in which she cries about it. Hence, she reports that the neighbors are friendly and outgoing, but wishes the can have the same fun as they do.

                   C.  Presenting Problems/ Issues of concern

Client has been worried as of late, as she battles with depression and isolation. She states she’s been losing her mind, because she has nowhere to go other than Lewington Senior and Disable Center. Much more, she consistently argues with her daughter, in which they haven’t been able to get along for “a very long time”. Client states because of that, she is often times angry with herself, and help calm her down, she turns to smoking pot. For such, because of her smoking habits, her health isn’t up to par. For this reason, her concern is not being able to see her grand children grow up, as she worries about her health. On the other hand, not being able to get any sleep, client stays up thinking about her family, as she seeks support and stability from those closest to her. Thus, her overall concern is not getting the proper resources she desires, as she hopes that community services will improve her well-being.

                   D. Assets, Resources, and Strengths

Nowadays client is very dependable, as previously mentioned, her health   has taken a toll on her overall life. Much less, her age has been a factor, in her overall lifestyle. Rarely having friends, as most of them are in Florida, she doesn’t get the financial help she seeks. Apart from that, she states that her daughter “hates her”, and that her son only gives her money every six months, due to travelling. That is, her only resources of income, come from her pension or insurance. In addition, Lewington Senior and Disable Center, also provides financial support, every three months. With all being said, through these tough times, client was always determined to get help and even looked toward strangers for assistance. Thus, with a loving heart, client is very reflective and open towards her problems, as shown as a strength of hers.

                    E. Referral Source and Process; Collateral Information

In desperate hope for help, client actually referred herself to the agency a few years ago. Being that it was local and close by, she states that she didn’t know where else to go. That’s when she met Terri who is the head social worker, as she would provide the client with resources and interventions for use. Being that, within those resources were medical, transportation, banking, and housing information. With all that she could’ve asked for, there was no wait time, as she told her story accordingly. Thus, from this referral process, client happily states that the agency is like a second home to her.

                  F. History

                      1.     Developmental

Client reports that she had a rough time growing up, as she grew up without a        father. She believes that she was born “normally”, but questioned herself due to her weird personality.

    2.    Personal, Familial, and Cultural

Client comes from a family of six. Her mother and father married in their twenties, as she would eventually do the same. Not to mention, being the oldest sibling, she always had the hardest of responsibilities. Anyhow, her family was a Christian family and would go to church on Sunday’s as she would sing in the choir. Being so, family was very spiritual, but very hard on her throughout her life. She would often get beaten, if they thought she didn’t sing well enough. This of course, would put a dent in the client’s well-being.

  • Critical Events

As previously mentioned, as a child, client was often times beaten and wrongfully accused of her actions. This would lead to her having a tough mentality, as she would make something positive out of her situations. That is, with the recent passing of her husband and brother, client has since embraced the good times and learned to move on. However, being a part of Hurricane Irma, that tragic event has caused an emotional burden upon the client. For such, this has left the client depressed, while she suffers from bipolar disorder.

  • Sexual

Client reported that she had no sexual desires, only until she got to college where she met her husband. That is, from her early twenties to fifties, she found sex to be very pleasurable, and since then has had two children.

  • Alcohol and Drug use

Client never had a drinking problem growing up, as she would only drink at family events. It wasn’t until recently where she became an alcoholic. She states, due to recent conflicts, she drinks heavy to cope with her feelings of depression.

  • Medical / Physical/ Biological

Client reported that she never had a serious medical problem. The only problem she has now is with age, and just a few years ago developed pneumonia. She believed she caught it by sharing cigarettes.

  • Legal

Client indicates she has not had any difficulties with the legal or criminal justice system.

  • Educational

Client states that she completed high school, and would later obtain her associates degree. In doing so, she was able to work for the state.

  • Employment

Client reported that she’s always had a job since the age of sixteen. Prominently, graduating college in a degree in Business, she was able to work the state (she never specifies). From that, she was able to support her family, working full-time.

Leave a Reply